A Troop of Tuskers on my Blog!

IMG_7765

From Stone age rock-art to Modern age street-art, the elephant has remained a popular subject for artists. And for me as well. Today, I’m bringing you the collection of my elephant photos. Get ready to be amazed by this troop of tuskers!

I love my country India with all its limitations. However far my wanderlust may lead me, I’d always return right here and prefer to live here for the rest of my life. Apart from all the lofty things I can tell you about this dear country of mine, there is one, about which I am proud of. It’s the way its culture vibrates in many ways and places, in the middle of all modernity.

Ever since I was a little girl, whenever I’d hear sound of the bell hung on an elephant’s neck, I’d rush outside my home to see that mighty animal walking with all its grandeur. I do that even today. Yes, you can occasionally see an elephant passing amidst the traffic of superfast vehicles on city roads. Though no royals or even Indian army use them for fighting battles anymore, elephants are still prevalent in many cultural and religious ceremonies in India. And so, parks or zoos aren’t the only places where you see them. You see them in weddings, religious functions, social gatherings and so on.

As I just said, I have always been fascinated by elephants. This resulted into me clicking pictures of elephants wherever I’d see them –  in person, in paintings, in sculptures, in whichever forms they might be. So, presenting you the collection of my elephant photos.

d41d553a97d7f70bd117794096e66c37

Here’s a cousin of mine with she elephant Lakshmi! He pampers her when she passes with her Mahout from his home every Sunday. One day when he was passing by his car somewhere else, he saw her and stopped to caress her. That was when she started snuggling her trunk to his calves. That moment is captured here!

IMG_3547IMG_2590IMG_2173

Elephant is the symbol of strength and wisdom. Thus, a pair of giant elephant statue often adorns entrances of temples. Even residential homes have elaborated paintings of elephant decorating their wall near the entrance.

IMG_0488IMG_3534

It is interesting to notice different kinds of embellishments on the elephant. Also this particular one has seven trunks. It is Airavat, a mythological white elephant rode by Indra, the king of heaven.

IMG_0562IMG_1683

Coming up are two more pairs of elephants showing their reverence in front of two temples situated in south and west India. Even though the architectural styles differ, the elephant symbolisation remains the same. Notice the riders (a couple) in the first picture. Also elephant is the symbol of false pride (ahankar). So, it also indicates that before entering into a temple, one has to keep aside the false pride.

007

IMG_20160201_115513

Indian mythology offers vehicles to deities. This is a very interesting concept. Elephant is the vehicle of Vishvakarma (Principal Architect of the Universe). He is the presiding deity of all Vishwakarma (caste), engineers, artisansand architects. Here is one wall painting I found during a visit to an old school, which was very elegantly renovated with wooden furniture.

IMG_3910

This is my own mini creation, where I have narrated a socio-religious procession. The painting style is ‘Warli‘ and is chiefly practiced by tribal artists living on the border area of Gujarat and Maharastra.

IMG_3148

Elephants and lions play major roles in the outer structure of temple architecture.

IMG_2505

Kings…well…they owned these mighty animals and they were depicted either riding horses or elephants in various art forms. Here is a stone inlay work depicting life story of Rishabhadeva, the first Tirthankara of this era.

IMG_20141025_131101

And here is very interesting sculpture I found in the campus of Ranakpur Jain temple. It was at the root of a pillar depicting a Rajput warrior.

IMG_2720

By the way, there almost 120 (sic) names for elephant in Sanskrit. You can check that yourself by clicking on this link to a Sanskrit-English dictionary.

I am quoting two shlokas, which contains 20 names for elephants.

गजो मतङ्गजो हस्ती, वारणोऽनेकपः करी ।

दन्ती स्तम्बेरमः कुम्भी, द्विरदेभमतङ्गमाः ॥

शुण्डालः सामजो नागो, मातङ्गः पुष्करी द्विपः ।

करेणुः सिन्धुरस्तेषु, यन्ता याता निषाद्यपि ॥

Transliteration:

gajo mataṅgajo hastī, vāraṇo’nekapaḥ karī ।

dantī stamberamaḥ kumbhī, dviradebhamataṅgamāḥ ॥

śuṇḍālaḥ sāmajo nāgo, mātaṅgaḥ puṣkarī dvipaḥ ।

kareṇuḥ sindhurasteṣu, yantā yātā niṣādyapi ॥

IMG_3782

 

And here comes a merry group of children, who is visibly excited seeing an elephant vising their village. It was a memorable sight seeing the word spread, ‘an elephant has arrived’ and nearly all the children gathering and looking far at horizon. And jumping at the sight of it and shouting, cheering, clapping. They ran after elephant as far as the other end of village. Ah…that scene!

IMG_1991

So, there are eighteen pictures of elephants, out of which seventeen are clicked by me! This collection is made in the response of Day 18 Photo Challenge, which is quite a creative idea by the fellow blogger Ms .

 

 

8 thoughts on “A Troop of Tuskers on my Blog!

  1. Afrika Bohemian

    Oh this is so beautiful, I like how you love India, i also feel like i was born in a country that is right for me. About elephants; the first time i saw one was when i was a child and ever since i have fallen in love with these gods of the Savannah. It is amazing all those names for elephants in Sanskrit but not surprising they really are a sight to behold and every time i get a chance i visit national parks for a chance to see these majestic creatures. Nice shots by the way

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Khutsie! I’m glad to hear from you. ‘God’s of Savannah’. What a regal expression! Do you know each Sanskrit name shows a distinct feature of elephant?

      Like, कुम्भिन् kumbhin = having on his forehead the prominencecalled kumbha

      स्तम्बेरम stamberama = delighting in clumps of high grass

      अनेकप anekapa = drinking oftener than once

      द्विरद dvirada = 2-tusked

      मतङ्ग matanga = going wilfully or roaming at will

      शुण्डाल shundal = possessing a proboscis or trunk

      And thank you for the compliments 🙂

      Like

  2. I really think the elephant is such a regal animal. These photos bring a smile to my face. There is so much color in your culture. The pictures are a feast for the eyes. The one of those children.seeing the elephant in their village is quite joyous. Thank you, Mana, for some lovely images to fill my weary brain. Clare

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Clare, are you tired? Let me cheer you with one ‘Cloud song’. This song is in Bengali language. Cloud is compared to a nomad saint, who is playing a stringed instrument. I tried to look for the English translation, but couldn’t find. Here it the link. I hope you’d enjoy.

      I’m yet you read your post on cloud. I am sure i’m gonna love it. Because clouds appeal me and i am going to write a post on cloud songs as monsoon is an awaited season of india.

      And thank you, thank you so much for the lovely comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mana,I began to read your post on your favorite songs, but was interrupted. I’ll make sure I listen to each one. I think a post on cloud songs is a marvelous idea. We should have coordinated our posts to be published at the same time. Maybe we’ll do this on another topic? Thanks for the link. I’ll go there now. Clare

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Coordination? Such an exciting idea. Yes, I will look forward to. It will be my first, since I’m a fairly new blogger!

        (None the less, I will translate all three cloud songs and send them to you for you to enjoy different flavours of music, culture and ideas.)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I would love that. Welcome to blogging. I’ve only been at it for a year and post about once a week. I really look forward to the friends who stop by to comment on my posts. And they are such interesting people as can be seen in their posts. I’ve learned more this past year than during my entire education.

        Like

Leave a Reply

